Christmas Traditions

In my life, I have been blessed with a truly loving group of family and friends.


the Caldwell girls at Nanci and Adriana’s marvelous Christmas party – 2009

Every year at Christmas, I reflect on the past 12 months of my life, and, amidst the hectic post office waits, people in a hurry, gifts to be wrapped and to-do’s to be done, I find myself in a calm haze of happiness and gratefulness. If there is one thing that defines Christmas to me, it is family. However, family can come in all forms. I truly believe that family is not necessarily a blood relation, but a person that you choose to embrace as though you were born from the same descendancy. Christmas, to me, means building on old traditions and looking forward to creating new ones.



our first tree

As I head into my favourite few days of the year, I remind myself to be grateful of the world we live in and the people who we live in it with. As I grow up, I realize my life is a constant journey of understanding the world around me and creating a beautiful life. While I am looking forward to creating traditions, Christmas makes me nostalgic and I’d like to share the traditions that I grew up with as a young child. Who knows, maybe next year, you will incorporate them into your family’s traditions!

In my family, the holidays revolve around food and wine (I assume this will be the same amongst most of you). Christmas Eve began with a 3 course dinner of Cheese, Meat, and Chocolate fondue. To be honest, I don’t think we ever made it to the chocolate course.



Pinned Image
gorgeous fondue set from Williams Sonoma

When my cousin (who is much more a little sister than anything) and I headed to sleep before Christmas, we were beyond excited – butterflies in our stomachs and anticipation for the day ahead. Our excitement grew to the extent that we were forced to create an “emergency kit” to help get us through the night. This kit had everything from a flashlight, to kleenex, to 3 different movies, and even snacks. There were no excuses to leave the room!

a must have for our emergency night basket

On Christmas morning, our parents cooked us a wonderful feast complete with pumpkin bread, quiche, and bacon.



pumpkin bread I made at Thanksgiving

As life goes on and traditions transform, one realizes that the true importance of Christmas is not necessarily following a formula every year. There will always be cookies, stockings, and movies, but ensuring that you are surrounded by people you love will create the most perfect tradition of all.

Happy Holidays, everyone!

One thought on “Christmas Traditions

Leave a Reply

