Winter Salad

Salad for dinner? In the winter? I know, I know. When beef bourguignon is calling your name, the last thing you want to do is make a salad with “light” dressing, right? Well, if you try this salad you may change your tune. Along with being delicious and fresh and HEALTHY, it is also hearty and mixed with texture and flavour. Don’t believe me? Try it out!



picture of the salad in the cookbook



fresh dressing ingredients



how cute are radishes?



finished product

My good friend gave me this cookbook, Plenty for my birthday and graduation. It has been one of my favourite gifts. If you’ve been to my house, you know that I love keeping our fridge stocked with fresh produce, and I love finding out new ways to cook with vegetables. This salad is going to become a staple during the wintertime when we don’t get fresh veggies from the garden. I picked up all of the produce at Granville Island and couldn’t have been happier with the results. Even the two boys I was cooking for loved it! That’s saying a lot about a salad…

“Lettuce Salad” (yes, it’s called lettuce salad – redundant, no?)
adapted from Plenty
Serves 4
Dressing
2 garlic cloves, crushed
3 tbsp lemon juice
3 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp grapeseed oil
salt and pepper
1 head of butter lettuce, leaves separated
1/2 head of curly lettuce, leaves separated (I used frisee lettuce)
1 head of radicchio, leaves separated
3 green onions, green and white parts, sliced thinly on a sharp angle
20 (YES 20! and use all of them!) radishes, trimmed and cut into 1/8 inch think slices
2 cups tomatoes (dried, semi-dried, or fresh if you like)
2 tbsp capers (whole if small, chopped if large)
To make dressing: in a small bowl, whisk together the ingredients, being quite generous with the salt and pepper.
Wash the lettuce leaves, dry well and keep whole or tear into large pieces. Place in a large mixing bowl and add the radicchio, green onions, radishes, and tomatoes.
Just before serving, pour the dressing over the salad and toss gently. Transfer to a large mixing bowl and sprinkles the capers over the top.


I hope you enjoy this salad! It is honestly one of my favourites, and I highly recommend this cookbook for healthy and innovative recipes. Vegetables can be fun too!

Tomorrow, I will be hosting a cooking club for my girlfriends at home and I couldn’t be more excited. We’re deciding between a Latin theme and a healthy theme. Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

