Where To Eat Tonight

I am getting in the habit of posting “Where To Eat” every Friday to give you ideas for the weekend! Here is my recommendation for tonight!

Being an avid viewer of any food-related shows, I was delighted to find out that the Top Chef Canada winner was Dale Mackay, owner of eatery Ensemble downtown. I had been eager to try it for months, and finally made it there last week. I was delighted with the food, and very pleased with service. I started off with a glass of sparkling Cava and enjoyed a New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc with my meal (one of my go-to wines).

Here is what we had: (please excuse the poor photo quality)

Roasted Beet Salad
Beef Tenderloin Carpaccio
Herb Risotto

Poached and Crispy Chicken

Vancouver Island Mussels

It’s a great place to go for a double date and with friends. The place is very social and there are people of all age groups there. I would highly reccomend the Vancouver Island Mussels, as they came with the most delicious fries. I would definitely order the herb risotto again, as it’s creaminess was unlike any risotto I’ve ever tried – and the herbs made it actually quite refreshing.

Definitely a place to check out. I really look forward to trying his new venture, Ensemble Tap. Apparently the chicken sandwich is incredible!

This weekend, I’m really looking forward to trying Mistral French Bistro, meeting a good girlfriend for a Friday night drink, seeing The Artist, unwinding, doing some yoga, and getting things done around the house. Also, I’m really looking forward to trying out the new Italian restaurant by Cru owner, Siena, on West 12th.

Have a romantic weekend!

Leave a Reply

