Wine Wednesday

This sunshine makes me want to prance around and have a glass of white on a patio somewhere. But, the temperatures are still a little way too cold to be doing that, so let’s stick with some fuller-bodied wines that pair well with our favourite comfort foods. Here are some Italian reds that I’m loving right now.

Masi Campofiorin

At $19.99 in BC liquor stores, this wine is fantastic from everything from meat to pastas with tomato sauce. It is full bodied and everything a strong Italian red should be.

Nipozzano Riserva

When were we in Italy last summer, I fell in love with Chianti wines. It may have been the fact that I was tasting them in Chianti, but either way, I absolutely love these tuscan reds. At $13.99 in BCL, this wine could be considered a steal.

Nozzole Chianti Classico

I took this picture at one of our first meals in Florence. This wine is absolute perfection. Made from Sangiovese grapes (the main grape in Chianti, Tuscany). It is fresh with berries, but lingers long in your mouth with heavier notes. I’d love to try this with a pork dish, a red tomato sauce, or even veal.

Ancilla Montepulciano D’abruzzo

We tried this wine at Siena last week and thought it was a great drinking wine. Paired with bolognese and a few appetizers, you can’t go wrong here.

Argiano Brunello Di Montalcino

This wine was introduced to us through a very special family friend, Nancy, and I fell in love at first sip. Not an everyday wine because of it’s price, this is a perfect red for a special family dinner or date night. When I think of a big, fruity, earthy, Italian red, this is what I imagine…

I hope you are enjoying these “wine wednesdays.” I’d love to hear some of your favourite wines in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Wine Wednesday

Leave a Reply

