Taco Tuesday!

Ever since I lived in California for my senior year of high school, I became obsessed with Mexican food. Most people who have lived in California (or Mexico, for that matter) can attest to the fact that there is a serious lack of amazing mexican food in Vancouver. However, there are a few places I frequent that really hit the spot (Salsa and Agave, and La Taqueria). I was craving a new taco recipe because I’ve been making this one for almost a year now. Heading over to one of my favourite cooking websites, I found a great taco recipe, which I altered slightly.



sauteeing the chicken, jalapeno and taco seasoning

adding peppers
frying shells
shaking out excess oil
enjoy!

Chicken Tacos (loosely based on the Pioneer Woman recipe)
serves 2 as main, 4 as appy

4 small flour or corn tortillas (I used flour)
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut into small pieces
2 tbsp taco seasoning (I am not ashamed to admit I do not make my own, Old El Paso’s is great!)
1 tbsp frying oil (I use coconut oil for medium-high heat, olive oil for low) 
1 jalapeno (de-seeded and de-veined) diced
1 red pepper, chopped
shredded cheddar
sour cream
Frank’s hot sauce
1 cup shredded lettuce
2 tomatoes, diced

Season chicken with taco seasoning. Heat frying oil over medium high heat and add the chicken and jalapeno for a few minutes. Once fully cooked, add the red pepper and sautee a minute or so more. Remove from heat.

Prepare all other ingredients (I like to let people add them themselves, so set them on the table)

Add some coconut oil to another pan (about 2 inches and heat over medium-high heat)

To get the nice brown on the outside of the shells, place a tortilla in your left hand and with your right hand, add as much or little chicken as you desire, and fold shut. Fry on each side for about 30 seconds, or until it is the desired colour.

Place on pre-set towels and wrap the tortilla and shake out the excess oil.

Serve with all over toppings!

Enjoy with a Corona, a glass of rose, or a glass of non-dry white.

Leave a Reply

