Hard as Pie

When I started learning how to cook and bake, I never understood why people used the saying “easy as pie.” Easy as PIE? Was I the only one who thought preparing a perfect pie crust was next to impossible? While pie crust is always challenging, my aunt taught me the recipe that my grandmother used without fail and I truly believe I have found an easy as pie recipe. Thank you, Terri for being so generous with your time while you were visiting me!
Strawberry rhubarb is a killer summer combination, and this pie turned out absolutely perfect. It’s a great way to use up all of that fruit you bought at the farmer’s market!
the strawberry/rhubarb “marinating”
pastry blending

rolling out the dough

perfecting the crimping

serious concentration

happily taking on the task!

strawberry rhubarb perfection!

double the fun (we made apple too!)

While this recipe is quite straightforward and fool proof, it definitely takes a few times to get the hang of it. Don’t fret if you can’t quite get it the first time, I promise it will get easier! Feel free to use any fillings that you desire, and to use the pie crust recipe for any other ideas you might have.

Grandma’s Pie Crust (aka Classic Crisco Pie Crust)

For the filling, we cut up about 5 cups of rhubard and 1 pint of strawberries. I tossed them in 1 cup of sugar and 1 cup of flour (to soak up the moisture while baking). I baked the pie for 50 minutes at 400F and then another 10 minutes with tinfoil covering the crust. Let the pie cool completely before enjoying with a nice scoop of vanilla bean ice cream.

Are there any pie combinations you swear by? Strawberry rhubarb is my current fave for sure!


One thought on “Hard as Pie

Leave a Reply

