Pie With A Side of Life Changes

Looking back over the past few years, it seems as though I have celebrated big life moments with a special meal or a specific cocktail. This may be because my love for food and wine has become somewhat of a (healthy) obsession, but I think the true reason is that food gives us a way to catalog our memories. When I graduated from UBC last fall, I was treated to a meal at one of my favourite casual pizzerias, Nicli Antica Pizzeria. After all the hoopla of graduation day and big celebrations, I wanted a meal where I could enjoy simply fantastic food in a casual setting that wasn’t trying too hard. Whenever a friend gets engaged or something exciting happens, I make sure to savor a glass of Prosecco. Bubbly never ceases to excite my palette. Today marks another big change in my life. It will be my last day at the BC Lung Association as one of their Special Events Associates. I have been lucky over the past year to work on three successful fundraising events, and even more importantly, work with some incredible people. I will be starting my MBA at Simon Fraser University on Tuesday, and I couldn’t be more excited. It’s a big change but I am ready for the challenge.

In order to say thank you to my colleagues for a great year, I decided to bake them a pie with fresh blueberries and peaches from the market.

Blueberry and Peach Thank-You Pie

Recipe for Perfect Pie Crust
3 cups blueberries
2 cups peaches, sliced thinly
Pinch of cinnamon
1/8 C of brown sugar
1 tbsp of butter, chopped

1. Add blueberries, peaches, cinnamon and brown sugar to a bowl and mix. Set aside.
2. Follow my favourite recipe for pie crust.
3. Place the larger piece of dough after being rolled out on the bottom of your pie pan.
4. Add blueberry mixture.
5. Sprinkle with butter.
6. Roll out the top pie crust and cut into 1.5″ strips. I used a ravioli cutter to make the pretty lines.
7. Bake on the lowest rack at 425F for 50 minutes. Add tinfoil to the crust if it is getting too brown.
8. Enjoy with friends.

5 thoughts on “Pie With A Side of Life Changes

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year | Sip Savour Share

  2. Pingback: The Social Media Awards | Sip Savour Share

  3. Pingback: Mini Strawberry Tarragon Tarts | Sip Savour Share

Leave a Reply

