Pumpkin Spice Muffins

I hope that you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving weekend here in Canada! My weekend was filled with reading by the fire, three family dinners (with amazing food and wine), and catching up on our new favourite show, Homeland. It was a great weekend before a busy week ahead. I write my first official grad school exam on Friday, so I will be hunkering down this week with my books, some green tea, and perhaps these muffins!
I always seem to have leftover pumpkin after Thanksgiving. Last year, I made this Pumpkin Spice Bread. I wanted to make something that I could give away, freeze, and savour over a couple of days, so I decided to make these Pumpkin Spice Muffins. Recipe below the photos. 

perfect with a big mug of tea on those crisp fall days

Pumpkin Spice Muffins (Joy of Cooking)
prepares 1 dozen muffins

– 2 C all-purpose flour
– 1 tbsp baking powder
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 1 tsp ground cinnamon
– 1/4 tsp grated or ground nutmeg
– 2 large eggs
– 1 C milk
– 1 C sugar/packed light brown sugar
– 1/2 cup butter, melted
– 1 tsp vanilla
– 1 cup cooked or canned pumpkin

1. Preheat oven to 400F and put the baking sheet in the middle rack.
2. Line muffin pan with liners.
3. Whisk together all dry ingredients in a bowl.
4. Mix all wet ingredients in another bowl.
5. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix until just moistened. The batter should not be smooth.
6. Divide among muffin tins.
7. Bake for about 17 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the centre of the muffin comes out clean.

Enjoy!

Happy Fall!

Leave a Reply

