Couscous Salad with Roasted Chickpeas

Most of the recipes I share on this website are recipes that I find through extensive online research and my favourite cookbooks in-house. One of my goals for 2013 was to create more recipes from scratch, without looking at any cookbooks or any online recipes. I have to tell you, that this one was a booming success! I always happen to think of new recipes right as I’m falling asleep, and I usually think I’ll remember that in the morning, and I never do. This time, I wrote down my ideas on my iPhone and thought about the recipe for a couple days before finally trying it out last night.

As you all know, I am currently enrolled in an MBA program that finishes in August. This semester has been really exciting as we start to figure out our career path, and we have been lucky enough to have some amazing courses. In marketing today, we will be discussing the famous El Bulli Restaurant. I’m not sure it’s possible for me to be more excited. After finishing reading the case, I watched clips from the film. Here is one I found particularly funny…they are so precise when testing recipes:

Armed with some inspiration from incredible chefs and even more awe-inspiring recipes, I set out to make something a little bit different, that combined unexpected flavour profiles, and this is what I came up with! It was hard not to eat my own salad + the salad I made for class!

Washing parsley - make sure it is really dry before chopping!

Washing parsley – make sure it is really dry before chopping!

IMG_1341

Topping the Greens with Couscous

Topping the Greens with Couscous

Adding the Dressing

Adding the Dressing

Couscous salad with roasted chickpeas and grapefruit vinaigrette

Couscous salad with roasted chickpeas and grapefruit vinaigrette

Couscous Salad with Roasted Chickpeas with a Grapefruit Vinaigrette

1 1/3 uncooked couscous
1 can chickpeas, drained and patted dry
t tbsp olive oil
1/2 tsp cumin
1 tsp salt
2 tbsp parsley, chopped
1 tbsp green onion, chopped
Handful of greens (optional)

Dressing:
1 grapefruit, juiced
6 tbsp olive oil
1/2 tsp salt
1 pinch of red pepper flakes

1. Preheat oven to 425.
2. Toss chickpeas with cumin, olive oil, and salt and roast in oven for 30-40 minutes (shake often).
3. Cook couscous as per package directions (I used butter for more flavourful results)
4. Put greens, parsley and green onion into a large bowl.
5. Add together all ingredients except oil into small bowl for dressing. Whisk. Add oil slowly while whisking vigorously.
6. Allow couscous to cool slightly. Remove chickpeas from oven.
7. Place greens in the bowl, couscous on top and dress the salad.
8. Just before serving, add chickpeas.

I hope this inspires you to try your own creations. If not, try this one!

 

Leave a Reply

