Simple Pork Chops with Sauteed Spinach

Whenever I’m trying to eat really healthfully, I cook up some protein and serve it with two sides of veggies – my go to are kale and arugula, but sometimes I love the taste of sauteed spinach. Sauteeing spinach is such a great way to get a whole lot of nutrition in one dish. I threw a whole box into the pan and served it alongside Julia Child’s pork chops (I thought I’d link to the recipe as it’s not original!)

A couple of years ago, Adriana got me two volumes of Julia Child’s Mastering The Art of French Cooking (amazing gift and just shows she knows me as well as I know myself!), and while I haven’t quite mastered it, these books have helped a lot! French cooking can actually be a lot less fussy than you would imagine: these pork chops came together with a few simple ingredients and tasted amazing. I don’t often cook pork chops, but I think after discovering this recipe I will start!

IMG_1482 IMG_1483 IMG_1484 IMG_1485 IMG_1486

More pics and sauteed spinach recipe after the jump…

IMG_1487 IMG_1488 IMG_1489 IMG_1491 IMG_1492 IMG_1493 IMG_1494I posted that picture of the stain on my cookbook, because at first I was so upset that I had ruined such a pristine page! But then, I realized what I love about cooking is the story that every recipe comes along with. When I make these pork chops in the future, I’ll remember the first time I made them from that mark on the page 🙂 (It’s the little things, right?) Here is my easy sauteed spinach recipe:

Lemon Garlic Sauteed Spinach
Serves 2 as a side

1 box spinach
1 lemon, juiced
2 cloves of garlic, sliced
1 pinch of red pepper flakes
1 tbsp butter (or olive oil)

1. Squeeze the lemon onto the spinach in a bowl.
2. Heat the butter over medium and toss in garlic and red pepper flakes. Cook for about a minute.
3. Add spinach, tossing with tongs as you go. It will cook fast!
4. Serve alongside your favourite protein, or mixed into whatever you want!

Have a great week!

2 thoughts on “Simple Pork Chops with Sauteed Spinach

Leave a Reply

