Framework Magazine: How To Host a Wine Tasting Party

I am so excited about today’s announcement. My article on how to host a wine tasting party is live online in the June issue of Framework Mag! This feature has been in the works for about 6 months, and I was lucky to work with such amazing people (Gillian Segal Design, Bria from Framework, Christine W Photography, Edgeceptional Catering, and Tessa from Sweet Bake Shop) to put this together. Luckily, the sun came out for the shoot a few weeks ago and I am so happy with the outcome! Read below for the information on the wine pairings. I hope you go check out the feature, and read the amazing new issue of Framework this month, cover to cover: HERE.Screen Shot 2013-06-05 at 9.16.53 AM Screen Shot 2013-06-05 at 9.14.27 AM Screen Shot 2013-06-05 at 9.12.29 AM

Here are the amazing wines that we paired with the food.

La Stella – La Stellina Rosé 2012: This has got to be one of my favourite new wines. We opened up a second bottle last night, and it has reaffirmed my love for the brand. The wine is perfectly balanced, slightly sweet, a beautiful colour, and amazing with food and by itself. I can’t sing enough praises for it, and would suggest you check it out ASAP. I would go so far as to say – order a case for the summer.

8th Generation – Pinot Meunier Rosé: This is one of my absolute stand bys for a summer wine, and everyone I give it to absolutely agrees. If you are a Sauvignon Blanc fan and want to broaden your horizons, I suggest trying this because it has the crispness of a Sauv Blanc, but some added body and sweetness from the Pinot Meunier grape. I ordered a case of this last summer and I ran out far more quickly than I’d like to admit. However, I gave a few bottles away!!

Haywire – Gamay Noir Rosé: This wine is such a great patio sipper. It’s light on the palate and is totally affordable: $16.95. It’s fresh, has some stone fruit (cherry) and lots of nice berry flavours, and I loved it with the pickled beet snacks we had from Edgeceptional Catering!

Bartier Schofield Rosé Table Wine: I loved pairing this wine with the strawberry crostini (such a fresh take on the typical cheesy crostini) because there are some very similar flavour profiles in the wine. Sometimes, when I pair, I like to contrast, but I thought the strawberry in both the dish and the drink were a great complement.

Haywire “The Bub”: A very light-coloured bubbly, this wine is made in a very similar fashion to traditional champagnes, with Chardonnay and Pinot Noir grapes as the main varietals. I love Haywire, because they like to poke fun and make the wine more approachable, nicknaming this wine “The Bub,” “The Bubster” etc…so fun!

8th Generation Riesling 2012: Sometimes I find German Rieslings a little too sweet for my taste, but I’m loving the way that new world producers are making Riesling: a hint sweet, with lots of flavour – stone fruit, acidity, and a totally refreshing flavour.

8th Generation Confidence Frizzante Style 2012: This was one of my favourite wines of the shoot, and will definitely become my go-to for special occassions, gifts, and party wines. It’s perfectly balanced, has the most gorgeous colour, and is the best wine to toast with. We served this with cupcakes, and the bubbles really cut through the sweet flavours, but the sweetness in the wine really complemented the vanilla and raspberry flavour of the cupcakes.

Thank you to everyone who was involved in making this shoot a reality. Happy #WineWednesday!

 

2 thoughts on “Framework Magazine: How To Host a Wine Tasting Party

  1. Pingback: Wine Wednesday: Framework Outtakes | Sip Savour Share

  2. Pingback: Perfect Pairings | Sip Savour Share

Leave a Reply

