Garlic Scape Pasta

A couple of weeks ago I mentioned my first experience with garlic scapes, and I was not disappointed. Next, I wanted to try to make them the star of the dish, and so I did what I usually do when I have a veggie and need some sort of inspiration – make it a pasta! This recipe is easy to throw together. If you don’t have garlic scapes, try substituting regular garlic, leeks, ramps, or another type of garlic/onion flavoured vegetable you have on hand. It’s light, and a great accompaniment to a meat side. I made this for a casual Sunday Night Dinner, and would make it again in a flash.

Sauteed Garlic Scapes Sunday Night Dinner Table Set Up

I wanted to add some colour to the table, so I pulled out our most colourful tablecloth and used some old cocktail napkins to keep the colours fresh.

Pasta Toppings

I always season my pasta to taste, but I know I have different tastes than others, and wanted to give my guests some options when dressing their own pasta: fresh parmesan, lemon wedges, and basil from the garden were perfect with this dish.

Garlic Scape Pasta Pasta Side Dish

I served this delicious pasta alongside some grilled corn and BBQ ribs. A perfect (and easy) Sunday night dinner!

Garlic Scape Pasta
Serves 4

4 garlic scapes, cut into 1 inch thick slices
2 tbsp olive oil
1 pinch of salt
200 g spaghetti
fresh grated parmesan
1 lemon, juiced
3 leaves of basil, julienned

toppings:
lemon wedges
basil
parmesan hunk
salt
pepper

1) Put on water to boil with lots of salt.
2) Heat olive oil over medium heat. When shimmering, add garlic scapes. Sauté until soft (about 10 minutes, but keep an eye on it).
3) Cook spaghetti. Reserve 1 cup of pasta water (always).
4) When scapes are almost cooked, add some lemon juice and the basil leaves with a pinch of salt (to taste).
5) When the spaghetti is cooked al dente, transfer the pasta directly to the pan with the garlic scapes (I use tongs).
6) Stir everything together, adding some grated parmesan and pasta water to make a light sauce.
7) Serve with extra toppings.

I hope you have an amazing week. Remember, you have one more day to enter the Sugar Cookie Giveaway! Winner will be announced tomorrow.

Wine pairing: a light red, like a Pinot Noir or Beaujolais.

Leave a Reply

