Where To Eat in Portland: Ava Gene’s

I’ve already told you how much I loved Oregon, and Ava Gene’s is a huge part of the reason why. I’m always on the lookout for new restaurants in different cities. When I find one that sounds appealing, I add it to my list of “to try” under city categories. When I read Bon Appetit’s review of the restaurant, I was immediately convinced I had to go there. Farm-to-table, local, Italian influence – it was right up my alley. I’m not kidding when I tell you that Ava Gene’s was one of the best restaurants I have ever been to. Ever

IMG_2974

Another one of my favourite Portland spots was Oregon Wines on Broadway, where we are pictured above, enjoying a flight (or two) or Oregon wine before dinner. I went home with a bottle of the Eyrie Pinot Gris.

IMG_2976

One of my favourite things to do when going out for dinner is to start with a cocktail while perusing (the incredible) menu, which changes daily by the way. I ordered one of my favourite classic Italian aperitifs, the Aperol Spritz. 

IMG_2975

This was by far one of my favourite dishes. Roasted beans with Talleggio cheese atop of a crostini – to die for. I have to recreate this dish at home.

IMG_2978

If you go, I highly reccomend the salad trio. You are able to try a few different veggies and it’s the perfect thing to whet your appetite. I’d never tried raw pumpkin, but it may have been my favourite dish of the night. It was superb.

IMG_2981

Another contender for my favourite dish was the duck ragu on homemade pasta. I think that picture encapsulates the deliciousness that was that dish.

IMG_2982

An Italian classic, the lamb was grilled over this massive flame and it was very neat to watch. It was much neater to eat, though 🙂

IMG_2983

To finish it up, we had THE BEST gelato (biscotti flavoured) and an affogato, one of my favourite simple desserts.

I’m not kidding when I say that I would drive down (minimum 5 hours) to Portland, just for the night, to have this meal again. It is not to be missed, and make sure you book ahead (far ahead!)

One thought on “Where To Eat in Portland: Ava Gene’s

  1. Pingback: 2014 | Sip Savour Share

Leave a Reply

