Healthy Eating: Gluten-Free Raspberry Muffins

When I was reading through the latest issue of Bon Appetit, I came across a lot of really healthy recipes that I immediately had to try. When it comes to recipes, I am definitely one of those people who likes to estimate and “wing it” based on ingredients I have on hand. If I don’t have to buy something and can re-purpose something I already have, I always choose that route. While there are exceptions to that rule, I am generally one for substitutions and “pinches” rather than 1/2 teaspoons.

I have always been interested in the “Gluten-Free” diet. While I do not have a gluten intolerance, I realize the adverse side effects that gluten can have on your brain and body. Don’t get me wrong, I love me some pasta, but at the end of the day, little changes here and there can really aid in improving your overall health and well-being. So, to switch things up for breakfast this week, I adapted this Bon Appetit Gluten-Free Raspberry and Ginger Muffin recipe, using what I had on hand. Instead of regular gluten-free flour I used half almond flour and half brown rice flour. I also cut down on the sugar and raspberries. The result was an extremely moist and filling muffin.

I popped half the batch in the freezer and have been warming them up for about 30 seconds in the microwave everymorning. I really like the feeling of eating a muffin guilt-free (minus a little brown sugar – no-one’s perfect!)

gluten-free-raspberry-ginger-muffins-940x600Other small changes I’ve been making to improve my health in 2014:

– Drinking more green tea in the morning and herbal tea in the afternoon
– Switching out skim milk for almond milk in my latte every morning
– Cutting out deep fried foods for the month of January

I am planning to do a food-related goal every month, like cut out dairy for a month, cut out bread, etc. The reason for this is that it takes 21 days to break a habit, and rather than simply reaching for what is most convenient, it helps you make better choices and actually think about what you’re putting in your body. By the end of the month, I plan to indulge more consciously, and less often.

What are some of your health tips and tricks for 2014?

Leave a Reply

