Home Sweet Home…pt II

Screen Shot 2014-03-06 at 7.17.09 PM

We’ve lived in our current home for almost 3 years, and I’ve truly loved every minute of it (except for the flood that left us basement-less for over 6 months). I love the neighbourhood with great shopping and restaurants, I love the proximity to the seawall and Granville Island, and I love our Magnolia tree out front, even though it only blooms for one week per year (literally). What I love most about our house is the memories that have been made here: family dinners, Oscar parties with friends, people dropping by for a glass of wine, enjoying summer nights and city noises on our front porch, and cozying up on the couch in front of the fireplace. I’ve grown up over the last 3 years in this home. I’ve learned the importance of healthy cooking and providing an inviting environment for others, I’ve learned that furniture is really expensive (even from Ikea), and I’ve learned how to make a house a home. I hope everyone feels that when they walk through our door.

Life comes with lots of changes and the important part is to keep moving forward. So, with that being said, we are moving in a few months! We will be renovating an older house and making it our own. More dinner parties will be had, more flowers will be grown, and more nights cuddled up around the (wood-burning!!!!) fireplace are sure to occur. This only happened two weeks ago, but it sure is moving along quickly. It’s a huge feat to undertake, but I feel like we are ready for the challenge.

While we love our current home, we always knew that it wasn’t going to be forever.  We are so lucky to have this opportunity and I can’t wait to make the new house our own, slowly but surely. I’ll be posting before and after pictures, DIY’s, design inspiration and so much more. I can’t wait to share this journey with you! Make sure to follow along on Instagram and Twitter with our hashtag #PSrenovation (yes, I’m a nerd).

I’d love to know any renovation tips/tricks/resources that you have, please feel free to email me or leave them in the comments.

One thought on “Home Sweet Home…pt II

  1. Beautiful post Sophie. Such good writing — really heartfelt, concise and from your heart. And it warmed my heart!! xoxoxxo💗💗💗💗

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

