Spanish Wine Available in BC

Whenever I’m in a new country (or region, for that matter), I like to stick to drinking the local wines. Not only do they always taste better in their home region, but it truly gives you a sense of the region’s history, their terroir, and how they pair with food. When we were in Spain, we tried many amazing Spanish wines, from Cava to Alarijie to Garnacha. I wish I had done more research before I went, but sometimes the best way to learn is to taste. I wasn’t disappointed with any of the wines we tried, whether they were 3 Euros or 30.

Whenever I come home from a vacation, I try to bring my expanded palette with me. That means I’ll be heading to the wine store this weekend to pick up a few gems from Spain to share with my family and friends here.

Here are a few of the best Spanish wines available in BC at every price point.

Screen Shot 2014-04-02 at 6.47.36 AM

What first drew me to this wine was the gorgeous almost hand-painted look of the label. I’m not usually one to buy a wine by it’s label but this one was too pretty to pass up. It is from the region Bierzo which is becoming more and more popular. At $32, this is a great special occasion wine. And, of course, it will look great on your table top!

Screen Shot 2014-04-02 at 6.47.51 AM

This is one of the most popular Spanish wines sold outside of Spain. Garnacha is one of Spain’s most famous grapes, as it is the most-produced grape in the country. Well-known for being bold and full, it is not too overpowering and would go well with anything from a steak to a tomato sauce.

Screen Shot 2014-04-02 at 6.48.00 AM

I first tried this wine while eating at one of our favourite neighbourhood restaurants, Siena. I’ve always admired them for choosing wines off the beaten path at great price points, and this one is no exception. This wine can be aged for a few years or drunk now, and is dominated by a jam/plum taste. The tannins of this wine are quite soft, making it approachable with food.  Screen Shot 2014-04-02 at 6.48.12 AM

Of course, I couldn’t write a post on Spanish wine without including Cava. Cava is Spain’s version of Champagne or Prosecco, but it is definitely the most dry of the three different varietals. Great with or without food, Cava is always a very reasonable price on wine menus and at wine stores. This bottle is a great example of the grape.

I always encourage people to try something new at the wine store. I know it can be overwhelming but in the end you will learn a lot and expand your horizons!

Happy #WineWednesday!

Leave a Reply

