Mother’s Day Recap

Hope you all had a wonderful Mother’s Day! For our 2nd Annual Mother’s Day Dinner last night, we prepared a dish using each of our mom’s best recipes, along with cocktail reminiscent of their Moms.

IMG_3741

To start, we served “Carling Beer” – the beer my grandmother used to drink. Since we couldn’t find it in store, we resorted to printing out labels and taping them on. Peter’s grandma used to drink “G&Ts with lots of lime” so we set up a little G&T bar as well.

IMG_3769

The top print above our bar is by SS print shop and I love it because this is what we always hear when visiting Peter’s Nonna. The bottom one I found on Pinterest originally, and then ordered a copy for myself and Adriana from Society6.

IMG_3762IMG_3745

The whole tablescape was inspired by the small candle that I put on each of the moms plates: the new Voluspa scent, Amarinth and Jasmine. The box has pink peonies, and since it’s peony season I thought they would be perfect. The centrepiece is the first time I’ve tried my hand at flower arranging and while I have a ways to go, I was pretty happy with the outcome. DIY post to come!

IMG_3751

As you’ll notice, I have pink and grey napkins here. #Truelife – tables aren’t always perfect! After this shot was taken, I dashed out and grabbed gold paper napkins for a more cohesive look.

IMG_3752

The Indigo/Chapters bubbly glasses were a gift from one of my best friends for my birthday, and I used them to serve sparkling water and still water with sliced grapefruit.

IMG_3760

Following the cocktails, we served Nonna’s zucchini fritters, my Mom’s Marbella chicken and Peter’s Mom’s Rum Cake. All in all, it was a wonderful evening and reminds me just how much I love throwing dinner parties…even with mismatched napkins.

Have a productive week!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Recap

Leave a Reply

