French Pharmacy Favourites

The pharmacies in France are like a mix of Shopper’s Drug Mart, Sephora, and the Holt Renfrew beauty counter. They have everything from high end toothpaste to Caudalie products.  I spent more time that I’d like to admit admiring all of the products and even testing a few out. After I purchased everything, I used each product for the rest of the week and I swear my skin was glowing (the relaxation from the vacation could have contributed as well). So, I’ve rounded up my favourite French pharmacy buys. The good news? Most of them are available stateside.

IMG_4610

Klorane Dry Shampoo: I am the last person in the world that would buy dry shampoo. I’m lucky enough to have thick hair and only wash my hair about twice a week (embarrassing to admit? maybe…healthy for your hair? definitely.) However, after reading multiple blogs that suggested buying this product, I thought I may as well try it out. I waited until the end of my hair-washing cycle and tried it out. It adds volume, cleans, and extends your blow-out for a good day or two. I may not be fully converted, but I’ll be using this from time to time for sure.

IMG_4609

Homeoplasmine: Even Gwyneth Paltrow sings the praises of this multi-purpose ointment cream. I’ve been using it on everything from cuts to dry lips and I love it’s totally clear, nourishing feel. Think of this as the French version of Aquafor or Vaseline, but better. You have to ask the pharmacist for this one.

IMG_4611

Caudalie Eau de Raisin: Any company that uses grape extracts from the wine harvest wins automatically in my book. But seriously, this French company took the compound in wine that is touted for a healthy lifestyle (resveratrol) and realized it’s importance for skin care. I use this at the end of a long day or to freshen up my makeup as I transition from day to night. It instantly perks me up.

IMG_4612_2

Caudalie Divine Oil: This, my friends, is what they call a “miracle product.” I use it on my legs, cracked elbows, nails, hand and hair. My favourite use for it is as a somewhat mask before bed. I swear I wake up the next day with smoother, more tanned and toned skin. Miracle!

IMG_4615The only product that missed the mark for me was the Caudalie lip balm. It just didn’t jive with my lips, but it did smell great!

Coming up this Sunday: Canadian Thanksgiving and my Fall Harvest Sunday Night Dinner shot by Christie Graham Photography. You won’t want to miss it! It will go live Sunday morning.

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

