Dreams (and something really exciting!!)

Christie Graham Photography-89

When I was younger, all I wanted to do was move to California to act. I enrolled in a Junior Shakespeare Repertory Company when I was 11 and set out on that path until graduating with a Theatre degree 10 years later. I was in a few plays, some commercials, and a small TV show throughout that time. What frustrated me about acting was that it was one of those things that no matter how hard you work, it doesn’t necessarily mean that you’ll be successful because there is a certain amount of luck associated with “making it.” While it may have worked out in the end if I had kept going, I had to take a good look at where I was, and where I wanted to be and I wasn’t sure that I was on the correct path.

Christie Graham Photography-73

As someone who plans almost every single moment of her day and life (a little unhealthy, I know), not having a plan at the age of 21 scared the living daylight out of me. What was my 5 year plan? Would I ever figure it out? Had I failed? Was I giving up too soon? These thoughts clouded my mind and stressed me out beyond belief. It was unfathomable that one could live for a few months (or years) without a direct path. I learned that life is about discovering who you are and what you want to do, and it’s OK not to know how or when or why or what. Once I truly took that on, I was overwhelmed and excited about the possibilities.

Christie Graham Photography-111

Now, don’t get me wrong, I certainly don’t have it figured out. But I’m okay with that. I know that I want to be in business, that I want to work hard, and that I want to live a beautiful life filled with great food, wine and people and I’m on my way.

I expect that throughout my life, there will be some special moments where I can truly say that one of my dreams came true. Today is one of those days. I’ve been writing this blog for three years, hoping to share my love of food, wine, and entertaining with the world and today I get to share it with even more people on one of my favourite lifestyle blogs, Camille Styles. A Midwinter Night’s Dream by myself and Gillian is being featured today and I couldn’t be more proud or excited. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as we enjoyed preparing and writing it.

Christie Graham Photography-47

A huge thanks to Christie for taking such beautiful photos, Flower Factory for providing amazing flowers, Gillian for her incredible interior design skills, Barons of Beef for a beautiful piece of (grass-fed, grass-finished) meat, Sweet Bake Shop for the chocolate cake (which I sprinkled with pomegranate seeds) and The Bacchus Group for some delicious wines. Make sure to stop back on Wednesday for a recap of the wines we enjoyed.

See? Dreams do come true (and, most importantly, they can change). Head on over to Camille Styles to see the full feature!

8 thoughts on “Dreams (and something really exciting!!)

  1. Congrats Sophie! This sounds really exciting. Also, loved seeing The Chocolate Block in one of your photos! After living in South Africa for 3 months it’s become one of my favorite wines. Keep up the great work on your blog, I really enjoy reading it and trying your recipes.

    • Thanks Chloe! I hope you are well! Wow – living in South Africa, what an amazing experience!! I’m really getting into South African wines. Are there any others that are must-try? Merry Christmas! XO

      • Hmmm, there are a few that I loved but I don’t know if you could find them in the US/Canada. We went wine tasting in Stellenbosch and Stark Conde was our favorite vineyard. If you like whites their Field Blend was quite good, and for reds we liked two of their pinots (Rowey Vineyards and Round Mountain). Their Three Pines syrah and cab were fantastic but more pricey, and we all loved the 2013 Jonkershoek Lingen. Hope you can find some of these! Also, if you like The Chocolate Block you should try Wolftrap. It’s made by the same vineyard and is much cheaper but still very good and a nice table wine. But if you ever have the chance to visit Cape Town you must go to Stellenbosch, they have amazing wine and stunning views.

        I just moved to Spain actually and will be here for 7 months. If you have any recommendations for Spanish wines I’d love to hear them!

        Hope you’re doing well, and happy holidays!!

    • Hi Chloe,

      Thanks so much for these fabulous recommendations! I will definitely check them out next time I’m at the store.

      Adriana and I were in Spain earlier this year. I’m not a huge Spanish wine connoisseur, but I really enjoyed Bodega Classica Hacienda Lopez de Haro Crianza, Rioja DOCa, Spain. It has a really cool bottle and it’s readily available, so you can’t miss it!!

      Also, love Cava and Grenacha.

      Enjoy Spain!

  2. Pingback: #WineWednesday: A Midwinter Night’s Dream Edition | Sip Savour Share

Leave a Reply

