New Wines from VIWF

Last week, I attended the Vancouver International Wine Festival. For those of you who haven’t been, I highly recommend it next year. It’s a great place to try new wines, talk to winemakers, and mostly, it’s FUN! This year was my first year…as you know I’m obsessed with Cornucopia, but I was excited to add another wine fest into the mix.

This year, my goal was to find a few new reds and whites (and rosés, of course) too add into the mix at a good price point. There were LOTS of options, but here are a few of my favourites.

Did you go to the wine fest? What were your favourite wines?

WHITES & ROSÉS

IMG_7773

Spice Route Chenin Blanc – $25.99 (available by case at the BCL)

I’m usually partial to South African whites because I think you get big flavour for a small price. This wine had great flavours like passion fruit, but was a bit more full than typical South African Whites that I usually drink.

IMG_7775

The Wild Olive South Africa Rosé – $12.99 (available at the BCL)

I’m obsessed with how beautiful this label is – the winemaker’s wife painted this of her daughter. This is a “cheap and cheerful” rosé that is perfect with BBQ’ed chicken in the summer and also easy to drink on it’s own. The wine’s flavours are strawberry, berry and citrus. Perfect for summer!

IMG_7776

White Cliff Sauvignon Blanc – $17.99 (available by the case at the BCL)

This is a very easy drinking white. The higher residual sugar balances the acidity that is usually quite prevalent with Sauvignon Blancs. It’s a great everyday table wine.

IMG_7777

Sacred Hill Sauvignon Blanc – $18.95 (available by the case from the BCL)

I’m loving orange right now, and I think this bottle would look as beautiful on a table as it would styled on a black bar cart. I loved this Sauvignon Blanc – it was really fruity with some strawberry notes. Most Sauvignon Blancs are drunk a year after they are bottled, so the added aging gives this wine some nice complexity.

IMG_7778

Sables d’Azur Rosé Côtes de Provence – $17.99 (available at the BCL)

This rosé, to me, is typical of the Provençal style and brings me right back to our trip last summer (ps I want to go back!) This is a great value wine that is flavourful enough to stand up to food, yet light enough to enjoy on a hot summer day. It’s very dry.

REDS

IMG_7792

Angove Family Winemakers Family Crest Shiraz 2013 – $29.99 (available by the case at the BCL)

This is a beautiful, special occasion full wine. Great flavours like pepper and ripe berry. I think it would be great with a filet mignon. The mouth feel is rounded tannins – meaning that it’s meaty without being too intense.

IMG_7793

Fowles Wine Are you Game? Shiraz 2012 – $23.99 (available at the BCL)

Meeting the Fowles team was one of the highlights of the festival for me. The CEO of the wine label is a lawyer who found his knack making wine and hasn’t looked back since. The Are You Game? Shiraz is so delectable, fruit forward (mainly raspberry flavours) and it was definitely one of my favourite wines of the night.

IMG_7795

Fowles Wine Ladies Who Shoot Their Lunch Shiraz 2012 – $39.99 (available at the BCL)

Another special occasion wine, I was in love with this label and concept behind the wine. Ladies who shoot their lunch is a beautiful Shiraz with raspberry notes and round pepper flavours.

IMG_7796

Barossa Valley Estate Grenache Blend – $19.99 (available by the case at the BCL)

From the people who brought you Oyster Bay (a favourite amongst my friends), Barossa Valley Estate is aiming to bring great quality wines to the public at a great price. They hit the nail on the head with this blend.

IMG_7797

Barossa Valley Estate Shiraz – $21.99 (available at the BCL)

This is a really approachable Shiraz. It would be delicious with steak, but also good to sip pre dinner with some cheese and crackers. The main flavours that stuck out to me are blackberry and plum.

I hope this helps you pick up some new wines the next time you’re in the store!

Leave a Reply

