Bedroom Inspiration

We’re in the final stages of designing our new place before moving, and my mind is now focusing on paint colours and furniture! While we will be ordering everything in stages to account for time to save up, I want to have a good overall picture of how I want things to look before we make any decisions. Since we’ll be painting soon, it’s time to decide on paint colours! All of this has me pinning images of what I want our bedroom to look like. For me, the bedroom is a place to escape the world. Sleeping is my favourite, as is waking up on the weekend to sunshine streaming in the windows, in bed with coffee and a good book. I want our bedroom to feel relaxing, cozy, a little luxurious, but mostly like US. Here are some pictures I’ve been using as inspiration.

I love the vibe and the neutral colours of the bedroom below. Lots of pillows, comfy blankets and taupes and grays. It looks like a place I’d want to curl up all weekend!

6bc8d934effd48f6782ab085abfd618b

(original source unknown, unfortunately!)

One thing I know I want for sure, is a faux fur throw for the bottom of the bed. I love the contrast of the deep brown tones with the crisp white bedding.

2e86c9ca68aaa1ae5cdfddd4ca5744e9

(photo: Nuevo Estilo)

I’ve been leaning towards lots of neutrals for our place because I know I can build upon them later. I love the serene vibe of this room below and I especially love the natural textures like wood and the green branches.

4ba8c5207498ff4e11276932631e093d

(photo via Coco+Kelley)

This bedroom below is one of my absolute favourites. While we don’t have high ceilings or natural wood beams (maybe one day!), the fresh and calming palette, and those dreamy windows are so beautiful! I’ll be drawing neutral colours from this, as well as the pops of black that will come from our black windows!

5de55b63194daa916c580ba78c343218

(photo via this cute barn featured on Architectural Digest)

The bedroom below is probably a little more elegant than we’ll be steering towards, but I had to include it because, in my mind, it executes the perfect balance of shades of grey, taupe and greige. It’s so calming and elegant at the same time.

7ef82be05616bbc90b547c10472a83a8

(Photographer: Andreas Trauttmansdorff, Designer: Julie Charbonneau)

The space below is total urban perfection to me! The cool white tones are warmed up by the leather and the sheepskin. I’m also loving the simplicity of no headboard here.

43dcdd40287a535b034f30c3cee1ca2d

(designed by Jarlath Mellett)

Ok, how amazing are those vintage doors behind the bed? While we won’t be doing anything to this level of extravangance, I kept the photo because of the use of white and taupe tones. We will also add a sliding door to our closet one day, and it would be great to find something vintage that resembles this “headboard.”

060b845515a1262f3e971e2719b31718

(photo via Restoration Hardware)

The room below is SO glam, and is something I would definitely strive towards if I were to be living alone. Since that’s not the case, I’ll be taking some hints from this room and hope to add just a dash of leopard for a little fun.

165ead543c5039ecc3b24df9bf19c99d

(photo via Jessika Goranson’s home on Domaine Home)

The bedroom below is near PERFECT in my mind. The wall colour (we’ll probably be doing something a little more earthy), the gold mirror, the grey fabric headboard and white sheets – I love everything about it!

195a0a2851b7daac6dc88cbaa3cc15f3

(photo: styled by Elkie Brown For The White Company)

I love the clean and tidy feeling of this bedroom below. Because we don’t have a ton of space, we’ll need to use dressers as side tables to keep things neat. This will be inspiration to me for keeping our bedroom spic and span! I think I would put something different (or nothing) above the bed in this room.

560edc5a976c535766f4481a8140152c

(original source unknown, unfortunately)

I grabbed the image below mostly for the natural light and gauzy white curtains. I also love the feeling of a sisal rug for those rustic fibers. We currently have black IKEA dressers that I think will act as our bedside tables like this image below.

37032f646d3b8e753000bcd4648e0b16

(photo via Mr and Mrs)

I am LOVING the bed linens and pop of black in the photo below.

972942519bd8587499df155a11addf59

(photo via Gardens & Gun)

The bedroom below belongs to Ivanka Trump. I have had this picture pinned for YEARS, and while it’s still probably a bit too feminine for our room, I love the elegant yet relaxing vibe. I think it’s the subtle use of colour that works for me.

c23c6a5d682e6ee461e36ea071008d61

(Originally published in InStyle and House and Garden. Found here)

Is there anything better than natural wood beams against a blank white slate? I think not. Again, this won’t be happening in our place, but I loved the colour of the floors (very similar to what we chose) with the white and natural wood tones.

c86074261c982e349c73d90659c12e18

(image found here)

That’s it for now – a round up of the bedroom spaces that are inspiring me! Check out our designer, Gillian’s, original post on our reno for more inspiration!

Xo,

Sophie

Leave a Reply

