My Favourite Kale Salad

I’ve been on a healthy eating kick leading up to the holidays. It may have something to do with the fact that I will be wearing a bikini in two weeks in Maui….but that’s besides the point. It’s a crazy time of the year so I like to take advantage of being healthy as much as possible. Luckily, I love vegetables so I have lots of yummy recipes up my sleeve. It may not taste like pasta but it will make you feel a lot better than pasta will! [Who am I kidding…nothing is better than pasta]

Screen Shot 2015-12-16 at 7.32.28 AM

Kale and Brussels Sprouts Salad
Serves 4-6 as a side (2-3 as a main)

2 bunches of kale
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp salt
15 brussels sprouts, thinly sliced
half a shallot, diced
half a lemon, juiced
1 tbsp dijon mustard
1/3 cup olive oil
salt
pepper
1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 cup chopped almond or hazelnuts
1/3 cup shavings of asiago

  1. Slide kale thinly and toss into a big bowl with 1 tbsp olive and 1 tsp salt and massage until soft.
  2. Add brussels sprouts.
  3. Mix shallot, lemon, mustard, salt and pepper, and 1/3 cup olive oil in a bowl. Set aside.
  4. Add 1 tbsp olive oil to pan and when hot, add chopped nuts (cook for 2 minutes) and set aside on a paper towel.
  5. Add dressing to brussels sprouts and kale.
  6. Top with almonds and asiago (or any hard cheese you like).

Enjoy with a glass of red wine. The wine pictured above is a Côtes Du Rhône, which is one of my favourite red wines. It pairs with lots of different types of food, and is really a crowd pleaser. It’s my go-to red when I am ordering or feeding a group of people. At $20, this one is a steal (and it’s SO good).

Enjoy the holiday rush! xo

Photo from my instagram

Leave a Reply

